Category: Blog Post

Indictable Offense: What Is It? An indictable offense is the most serious type of crime Indictable offenses are felony crimes. If you are charged
New Jersey Child Endangerment New Jersey child endangerment charges are serious felonies.  These crimes carry lengthy prison sentences & will leave you with a
NJ DYFS: How To Deal With It? New Jersey DYFS cases should be taken very seriously. Although the agency has changed its name to
New Jersey Criminal Attorney Goes from Being the “Scum of the Earth” to a Mother’s Hero Criminal Defense Attorney Alan Peyrouton receives a sincere
Terroristic Threats:What In The World Does It Mean? Terroristic Threats in NJ are more common than you might think A Common Example What’s an
NJ Marijuana Possession Charges NJ marijuana possession charges can carry serious consequences. Remember, it’s all about the “weight”! If you have a few grams,
Consequences of Violating a Restraining Order Criminal consequences of violating a restraining order The Family Division in the Superior court handles restraining orders. It
NJ Pretrial Intervention Everything you need to know in five minutes Think of Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI) as your ONE & ONLY Get-out-of-Jail-Free card. It’s
NJ Disorderly Conduct Charges A NJ Disorderly Conduct Conviction will show up on a background check. When a Disorderly Conduct background check is performed,
Driving on a Suspended License You may face up to ten days in jail for driving on a suspended license. Driving on a suspended

NJSA - 2C:43-7.2.
Eligibility for parole;
persons convicted of certain violent crimes

a. A court imposing a sentence of incarceration for a crime of the first or second degree enumerated in subsection d. of this section shall fix a minimum term of 85% of the sentence imposed, during which the defendant shall not be eligible for parole.


b. The minimum term required by subsection a. of this section shall be fixed as a part of every sentence of incarceration imposed upon every conviction of a crime enumerated in subsection d. of this section, whether the sentence of incarceration is determined pursuant to N.J.S.2C:43-6, N.J.S.2C:43-7, N.J.S.2C:11-3 or any other provision of law, and shall be calculated based upon the sentence of incarceration actually imposed. The provisions of subsection a. of this section shall not be construed or applied to reduce the time that must be served before eligibility for parole by an inmate sentenced to a mandatory minimum period of incarceration. Solely for the purpose of calculating the minimum term of parole ineligibility pursuant to subsection a. of this section, a sentence of life imprisonment shall be deemed to be 75 years.


c. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary and in addition to any other sentence imposed, a court imposing a minimum period of parole ineligibility of 85 percent of the sentence pursuant to this section shall also impose a five-year term of parole supervision if the defendant is being sentenced for a crime of the first degree, or a three-year term of parole supervision if the defendant is being sentenced for a crime of the second degree. The term of parole supervision shall commence upon the completion of the sentence of incarceration imposed by the court pursuant to subsection a. of this section unless the defendant is serving a sentence of incarceration for another crime at the time he completes the sentence of incarceration imposed pursuant to subsection a., in which case the term of parole supervision shall commence immediately upon the defendant’s release from incarceration. During the term of parole supervision the defendant shall remain in release status in the community in the legal custody of the Commissioner of the Department of Corrections and shall be supervised by the State Parole Board as if on parole and shall be subject to the provisions and conditions

Felony Degree

Prison & Fines

Examples

First-Degree

1st-degree felony charges in NJ are reserved for the most serious criminal offenses.

Second-Degree

2nd-degree felony charges carry 5-10 yrs in prison.
These charges can often be “downgraded” to 3rd or 4th-degree crimes.

Third-Degree

3rd-degree felony charges carry 3-5 years.
You have a good shot at PTI if you are charged with 3rd-degree.

Fourth-Degree

4th-degree felony charges carry up to 18 months in jail. But if you have a really good lawyer, he may be able to your case “remanded” to a lower court. In this way, you will be out of “felony” danger.