NJ Ignition Interlock Device (IID)

NJ Ignition Interlock device

***Important -

If you fail to install an NJ Ignition Interlock Device when the judge orders you to do so,  you may be unable to restore your driving and face an additional 0ne-year suspension. 

New Jersey Ignition Interlock Device

Not all surprises are good, especially when connected to arrest warrants against you.

Imagine seeing blue lights behind you. You pull over for a routine traffic violation and find yourself in the back seat of a squad car. Wait! What? Why am I being arrested? Or, imagine sitting on your porch and seeing a police car drive up and then watching an officer come up to you, ask your name, and say, “We have a arrest warrants on you.”

Arrest warrants are no laughing matter. These are serious legal issues with long-lasting ramifications, and these issues need to be resolved immediately.

Arrest warrants can be issued for minor offenses like simple assault or major offenses like murder.

What Is An NJ Ignition Interlock Device?

As of December 1, 2019, all DUI and Refusal convictions now require the installation of an NJ ignition interlock device (IID) in a motor vehicle owned, leased, or principally operated by the driver. You will need proof of an NJ ignition interlock device installation to get your driving privileges restored.

The NJ ignition interlock device is connected to the starter/ignition of any vehicle. With this device, your car’s engine will not start until its driver has exhaled into the machine and registered a breath alcohol content (BAC) below a certain limit. 

In New Jersey, that limit is 0.05%.

Will I get a NJ Ignition Interlock Device on a 1st Offense?

On a first offense, the NJ ignition interlock device must be installed by the convicted person at the time of conviction and prior to the restoration of driving privileges.

On a first offense under 0.10%, the NJ ignition interlock device must be installed upon conviction, and proof of installation shown to MVC to obtain a new license with “Interlock” imprinted on it, with the IID remaining installed for the next 3 months.

For a first offense between 0.10% and 0.15%, the interlock must be installed in order to get the license restored, and must remain installed for 7 to 12 months. 

For convictions 0.15% and above, proof of interlock installation must be shown for the 4 to 6 month suspension period to begin and must remain installed for 9 to 15 months after the suspension is completed.

What about a 2nd or 3rd DUI Conviction?

For second and third offenses, the NJ ignition interlock device must be installed prior to restoration of the license after suspension and remain installed for 2 to 4 years.

Can I Drive without the NJ Ignition Interlock Device?

The penalty for driving a vehicle without the NJ ignition interlock device, or for starting the car by some way other than blowing into the device, is one year additional suspension of driving privileges.

If someone blows into the NJ ignition interlock device for you, that person is subject to a criminal “disorderly person” complaint, with penalties that can include a $1,000 fine and six months in jail.

Tampering with the NJ ignition interlock device is also a criminal disorderly person’s offense.

What if I Own Multiple Cars?

The driver sentenced under this law cannot drive any vehicle, including work vehicles, that do not have the NJ ignition interlock device installed. New Jersey’s Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) will imprint a notation on your driver’s license making this prohibition clear, and they will enter the requirement on your driving record.

Can I Drive without the NJ Ignition Interlock Device?

The penalty for driving a vehicle without the NJ ignition interlock device, or for starting the car by some way other than blowing into the device, is one year additional suspension of driving privileges.

If someone blows into the device for you, that person is subject to a criminal “disorderly person” complaint, with penalties that can include a $1,000 fine and six months in jail.

Tampering with the device is also a criminal disorderly person’s offense.

Who Pays for the Ignition Interlock Device?

Yes, if you are sentenced to install an NJ ignition interlock device, you have to pay for its installation and cover a monthly leasing fee for the product.

While prices vary, expect to pay up between $75 and $100 every month for the leasing fee, a removal fee, and costs along the way for violations from blowing attempts above the 0.05% limit.

New Jersey ignition interlock devices cost under $2.50 a day. The cost will vary depending on the features you are required to have and how long you need to have the device installed for. Along with that, you won’t be actually purchasing the device, but rather leasing it for the time you are required to have it. 

Your total price will be comprised of a variety of factors, including:

Installation cost

Removal fee

Monthly lease fee

Calibration fee

Your total NJ ignition interlock device cost will vary depending on the type of vehicle you drive. A newer vehicle may cost you more due to the complexity of the wiring system. The overall cost of your NJ ignition interlock device will also vary depending on the length of time you are required to keep your interlock installed for. 

Who do I contact to get a NJ Ignition Interlock Device?

Only an installer licensed by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission may be used.  It is very important to confirm that the installer you select from the manufacturer’s list is properly licensed.

    • The device can only be installed at a service center designated by the MVC.
    • The breath alcohol concentration (BAC) set point must be at 0.05%.
    • The required service interval shall not exceed 67 days.
    • Must include a warning label:
      • “Any person tampering with, circumventing or misusing this Ignition Interlock system shall be subject to prosecution and/or civil liability.”

1A Smart Start, Inc.
500 E. Dallas Road, Suite 100
Grapevine, TX 76051

(866) 387-8366
www.smartstartinc.com

Alcohol Detection Systems
11035 Aurora Ave Bldg 1
Des Moines IA 50322

(866) 479-1302
www.ADSinterlock.com

Draeger, Inc.
1221 S. Beltline Rd, Suite 700
Coppell, TX 75019

(972) 929-1100
(800) 970-1002

www.interlockdevice.com

Intoxalock
11035 Aurora Ave. Bldg. 1
Des Moines ,IA 50322

(833) 210-8424
www.intoxalock.com/newjersey

Best Labs
590 East Western Reserve Rd.
Building 10-J
Poland, OH 44514

(800) 219-9936
www.sensolockamerica.com

LifeSafer
3630 Park 42 Drive, Suite 140
Cincinnati, OH 45241

(800) 475-7151
www.LifeSafer.com

Simple Interlock
4320 Osage Beach Pkwy, Suite 218
Osage Beach, MO 65065

(844) 432-4775
www.simpleiid.com

Low Cost Interlock,Inc.
2038 W. Park Ave.
Redlands, CA 92373

(844) 316-7988
www.lowcostinterlock.com

How We Can Help

Regardless of the criminal charges you are facing, we are here to defend & protect you. Whether you are facing a restraining order, drug charge, theft charge, or aggravated assault charge, we are here to help you. Even a DWI case can really complicate your life.

If we can’t get your charges dismissed, we can either get them downgraded or place you in a diversionary program. The point is, our criminal defense lawyers will fight tirelessly to get you the best result possible. Take advantage of our free consultation to see how we can help.

Our Experience

You or a loved one have been arrested. Understandably, you are terrified & have a lot of questions. You’ve heard about plea bargains & probation, but the process is overwhelming. You want a local attorney near you to represent you.

Mr. Peyrouton is from Ridgewood & handles all types of criminal matters in New Jersey The New Jersey Law Journal recently published one of his articles on the subject of criminal law.

Our Practice Areas

Below you will find some but not all of our practice areas. Of course, if you do not see your criminal charges listed, feel free to contact us for a free consultation. We will meet with you to discuss your case & to answer all of your legal concerns. Se habla español tambien!

Areas We Serve

Get Help With Your Case

How Do Your Free Consultations Work?

There are plenty of excellent Hackensack criminal lawyers in our area. Most, if not all of them, offer free, 20-minute, consultations. However, our free consultations do not have a time limit. You will never feel rushed.

The best way for us to help you is to patiently listen to your side of the story. Your version of events will serve as the basis for your legal defense. It is during these initial meetings that your memory of the event is fresh in your mind. Why we would rush you during such an important aspect of your case.

We understand that your choice of attorney could mean the difference between your freedom and spending years behind bars. 

When you hire an attorney, you are entering a long-term relationship. For this reason, it is important that you feel comfortable with the team of Hackensack criminal lawyers that will represent you.

What our clients say about us

Peyrouton Law
5.0
Based on 172 reviews
D S
D S
20:51 19 Sep 22
Absolutely Amazing Law Firm !! Very Thorough And And Doesn't Play Any Games .Thank You Again For all your help and Hard work Also Keeping my record Spotless !!!
Kayla Wilson-Raditch
Kayla Wilson-Raditch
19:45 24 Aug 22
Alan was amazing for my family member’s case. Highly recommended!
Jean-Carlo Delgado
Jean-Carlo Delgado
14:21 17 Aug 22
Excellent lawyer! Responds immediately to any questions asked. My case was dismissed and I was able to keep my job, couldn't have asked for a better lawyer.
Laurie Rivera
Laurie Rivera
17:35 02 Aug 22
Highly recommended! Got a family member that got in trouble and he was able to help him out.
jared giaimo
jared giaimo
17:20 02 Aug 22
Very helpful, very professional. As far as lawyers go this was an easy and pleasant experience!
Thomas Farrell
Thomas Farrell
09:55 02 Aug 22
Mr.Peyrounton was so helpful and very professional if anyone needs help I definitely recommend to go to Mr.peyrountonThank you very much
Anthony DiCataldo
Anthony DiCataldo
23:29 01 Aug 22
I had some issues with a first time DUI and I made the right choice by hiring Alan to have my back. The legal system can be very overwhelming but Alan took me through everything step by step and made me feel very comfortable. Very professional and always available for me on the phone. Never missed a call.
Joe Bixel
Joe Bixel
22:27 01 Aug 22
I reached out to Alan to help a friend of mine after talking with other attorneys. I felt most comfortable with him. The situation was not the greatest but the overall out come favored my friend. I highly recommend reaching out to Alan. Gave my friend a second chance in life and things are working out well.
Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor
21:29 01 Aug 22
Best lawyer in North jersey helped a bunch thanks again bud
John Fescoe
John Fescoe
20:53 01 Aug 22
Mr. Peyrouton is a man with brilliant insight into the law/justice system and and even better understanding on how to help people get through some of there scariest moments. I was facing multiple drug charges(all felony), and he never stopped fighting for me one second. His character and professionalism showed through both in court and in my personal interactions with him. I can honest say he saved me a lot of unnecessary heartache and worry and I would highly recommend his services to anyone in need. One could say he helped save my life. Thank you.

A person extorts if he purposely threatens to:

a. Inflict bodily injury on or physically confine or restrain anyone or commit any other criminal offense;
b. Accuse anyone of an offense or cause charges of an offense to be instituted against any person;
c. Expose or publicize any secret or any asserted fact, whether true or false, tending to subject any person to hatred, contempt or ridicule, or to impair his credit or business repute;
d. Take or withhold action as an official, or cause an official to take or withhold action;
e. Bring about or continue a strike, boycott or other collective action, if the property is not demanded or received for the benefit of the group in whose interest the actor purports to act;
f. Testify or provide information or withhold testimony or information with respect to another’s legal claim or defense; or
g. Inflict any other harm which would not substantially benefit the actor but which is calculated to materially harm another person.

***It is an affirmative defense to prosecution based on paragraphs b, c, d or f that the property obtained was honestly claimed as restitution or indemnification for harm done in the circumstances or as lawful compensation for property or services.

Reasonable Articulable Suspicion

Reasonable suspicion is a “search” standard that applies in criminal law.

When a police officer conducts a warrantless search, and does not have probable cause to justify the search, the courts look to see if the police had
a “reasonable & articulable suspicion” for the search.

A mere “hunch” is not enough.

In other words, a police officer has to provide an acceptable explanation for the search.

United States Constitution

Amendment IV

The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

NJSA - 2C:43-7.2.
Eligibility for parole;
persons convicted of certain violent crimes

a. A court imposing a sentence of incarceration for a crime of the first or second degree enumerated in subsection d. of this section shall fix a minimum term of 85% of the sentence imposed, during which the defendant shall not be eligible for parole.


b. The minimum term required by subsection a. of this section shall be fixed as a part of every sentence of incarceration imposed upon every conviction of a crime enumerated in subsection d. of this section, whether the sentence of incarceration is determined pursuant to N.J.S.2C:43-6, N.J.S.2C:43-7, N.J.S.2C:11-3 or any other provision of law, and shall be calculated based upon the sentence of incarceration actually imposed. The provisions of subsection a. of this section shall not be construed or applied to reduce the time that must be served before eligibility for parole by an inmate sentenced to a mandatory minimum period of incarceration. Solely for the purpose of calculating the minimum term of parole ineligibility pursuant to subsection a. of this section, a sentence of life imprisonment shall be deemed to be 75 years.


c. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary and in addition to any other sentence imposed, a court imposing a minimum period of parole ineligibility of 85 percent of the sentence pursuant to this section shall also impose a five-year term of parole supervision if the defendant is being sentenced for a crime of the first degree, or a three-year term of parole supervision if the defendant is being sentenced for a crime of the second degree. The term of parole supervision shall commence upon the completion of the sentence of incarceration imposed by the court pursuant to subsection a. of this section unless the defendant is serving a sentence of incarceration for another crime at the time he completes the sentence of incarceration imposed pursuant to subsection a., in which case the term of parole supervision shall commence immediately upon the defendant’s release from incarceration. During the term of parole supervision the defendant shall remain in release status in the community in the legal custody of the Commissioner of the Department of Corrections and shall be supervised by the State Parole Board as if on parole and shall be subject to the provisions and conditions

Felony Degree

Prison & Fines

Examples

First-Degree

1st-degree felony charges in NJ are reserved for the most serious criminal offenses. Prison terms start at a minimum of 10 years in prison.

Second-Degree

2nd-degree felony charges carry 5-10 yrs in prison.
These charges can often be “downgraded” to 3rd or 4th-degree crimes.

Third-Degree

3rd-degree felony charges carry 3-5 years.
You have a good shot at PTI if you are charged with a 3rd-degree.

Fourth-Degree

4th-degree felony charges carry up to 18 months in jail. These cases can get “remanded” to a lower court. In this way, you will be out of “felony” danger.

claim your free consultation
$500 - Value

Yes, I need help with my case & I want to take advantage of your FREE consultation.