Table of Contents

Table of Contents

NJ Traffic Violations

How many points before you lose your license?

NJ Traffic violations can add up. If you get too many points on your license, your license may get suspended. However, you may be eligible to have points reduced by either waiting a period of time or enrolling in defensive driving course. Traffic violations are not only expensive, but they raise your insurance premiums.

We’ve published this article to help answer many of your questions.

How are points deducted?

If you go one year (from the date of the most recent violation) without any points or violations, three points will be deducted from your license.

Once you order your driver history abstract, it is important to look at New Jersey’s Traffic violations “Point Schedule”.

Here you will be able to check the violations for your points. If there is a mistake and you don’t remember committing a certain NJ traffic violation, please call us.

How many points on my driver license will suspend my driving privilege?

Your driving privileges will be suspended once you accumulate 12 or more points on your license.

In order to reinstate your license, you will be required to pay a restoration fee of $100.00. In addition to paying a “restoration fee”, you may have to appear for a hearing. Part of getting your license back involves the successful completion of an MVC managed Driver Improvement Program. There is also a fee for this program.

Check out our page on New Jersey License Restoration.

If i lose my license, can i get a work license in new jersey?

Unfortunately, New Jersey is one of the few states that does not offer a work license.

If you are facing a DWI/DUI, it is very important to fight your case. Convictions for drunk driving carry heavy penalties and lengthy license suspensions.

Will a DWI affect my employment?

Our NJ Traffic violation lawyers have written an entire article on this subject.

Check it out: DWI Convictions Affect Employment In Limited Ways

How can i find out how many points i already have?

If you’re unsure how many points you have on your license, you may request a certified copy of your driver history abstract (driver record) online, send a request through the mail; or you may visit a full-service motor vehicle agency.  

We’ve made things easy for you.
Here’s the complete Application for Driver History Abstract (Form DO-21).

A $15 fee will apply for each record request.

How can i find out how many points i'm facing?

NJSA Section
Offense
Points
All roads and highways
39:3–20
Operating constructor vehicle in excess of 45 mph
3
39:4–14.3
Operating motorized bicycle on a restricted highway
2
39:4–14.3d
More than one person on a motorized bicycle
2
39:4–35
Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk
2
39:4–36
Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk; passing a vehicle yielding to pedestrian in crosswalk
2
39:4– 41
Driving through safety zone
2
39:4–52
Racing on highway
5
39:4–55
Improper action or omission on grades and curves
2
39:4–57
Failure to observe direction of officer
2
39:4–66
Failure to stop vehicle before crossing sidewalk
2
39:4–66.1
Failure to yield to pedestrians or vehicles while entering or leaving highway
2
39:4–66.2
Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal
2
39:4–71
Operating a motor vehicle on a sidewalk
2
39:4–80
Failure to obey direction of officer
2
39:4–81
Failure to observe traffic signals* (Red Light Camera- 0 pts.)
2
*No points assessed for red light camera violation
0
39:4–82
Failure to keep right
2
39:4–82.1
Improper operating of vehicle on divided highway or divider
2
39:4–83
Failure to keep right at intersection
2
39:4–84
Failure to pass to right of vehicle proceeding in opposite direction
5
39:4–85
Improper passing on right or off roadway
4
39:4–85.1
Wrong way on a one-way street
2
39:4–86
Improper passing in no passing zone
4
39:4–87
Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle
2
39:4–88
Failure to observe traffic lanes
2
39:4–89
Tailgating
5
39:4–90
Failure to yield at intersection
2
39:4–90.1
Failure to use proper entrances to limited access highways
2
39:4–91–92
Failure to yield to emergency vehicles
2
39:4–96
Reckless driving
5
39:4–97
Careless driving
2
39:4–97a
Destruction of agricultural or recreational property
2
39:4–97.1
Slow speed blocking traffic
2
39:4–97.2
Driving in an unsafe manner (points only for third or subsequent offense within five years of most recent 39:4-97.2 conviction)
4
39:4-97.3
Use of a handheld cellphone or electronic communication device while driving
3 Points are assessed against 3rd offense occurring within 10 years of a second offense and all subsequent offenses thereafter.*
3
39:4–98
Exceeding maximum speed 1-14 mph over limit
2
Exceeding maximum speed 15-29 mph over limit
4
Exceeding maximum speed 30 mph or more over limit
5
39:4–105
Failure to stop for traffic light
2
39:4–115
Improper turn at traffic light
3
39:4–119
Failure to stop at flashing red signal
2
39:4–122
Failure to stop for police whistle
2
39:4–123
Improper right or left turn
3
39:4–124
Improper turn from approved turning course
3
39:4–125
Improper u-turn
3
39:4–126
Failure to give proper signal
2
39:4–127
Improper backing or turning in street
2
39:4–127.1
Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing
2
39:4–127.2
Improper crossing of bridge
2
39:4–128
Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing by certain vehicles
2
39:4–128.1
Improper passing of school bus
5
39:4–128.4
Improper passing of frozen dessert truck
4
39:4–129
Leaving the scene of an accident –
no personal injury
2
Personal injury
8
39:4–144
Failure to observe stop or yield signs
2
39:5C–1
Racing on highway
5
39:5D–4
Moving violation committed out-of-state
2

important: NJ Surcharges

Surcharges:
If you get six or more points within three years you will be subject to costly Surcharges. These charges start at $150.00 for six points & increase by $25.00 for each additional point. 

More Helpful Articles

Plea Bargains What Are They & How Do They Work?

Plea bargains run our criminal justice system. 90% of cases are settled by way of plea deals. When you’re charged with a crime, your lawyer will negotiate a plea bargain. But is a plea bargain your only way out?

Plea Bargains What Are They & How Do They Work?
Read More
NJ PTI: Everything You Need to Know in 5 Minutes!

Everything you need to know in five minutes
Think of Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI) as your ONE & ONLY Get-out-of-Jail-Free card. It’s the QUICKEST way to be done with your Felony arrest.

NJ PTI: Everything You Need to Know in 5 Minutes!
Read More
How To Get Criminal Charges Dismissed

Getting your criminal charges dismissed is possible. If you’ve been arrested, then you’re interested to know how your criminal lawyer can get your charges dismissed. Of course, you understand that you are innocent until proven guilty.

How To Get Criminal Charges Dismissed
Read More
NJ Felony Charges: 5 Steps To Start Fighting Back!

New Jersey felony charges are termed “Indictable Offenses”. These are the most serious charges that you can face. If you plead guilty, or are found guilty, the judge has no choice but to sentence you to prison.

NJ Felony Charges: 5 Steps To Start Fighting Back!
Read More
  • Traffic Violation Lawyer Near Me

If you would like to meet with us to discuss your case, we offer FREE consultations.

More Practice Areas

About the Author

Attorney Alan G. Peyrouton

Attorney At Law

Mr. Peyrouton is a Criminal Defense Attorney located in Hackensak, NJ.

His articles in the areas of Criminal Law have been published in The New Jersey Law Journal.

He is a distinguished author, trial attorney, and has had the privilege of arguing before the New Jersey Supreme Court.

Prior to becoming an attorney, Mr. Peyrouton was a world-class, competitive tennis player.

He is perfectly fluent in Spanish.