Assault charges cover a variety of crimes. Anytime you injure someone or threaten to harm someone, they will charge you with an assault crime. Assault crimes range from misdemeanors to high-felony crimes. For example, a Simple Assault is a misdemeanor (disorderly persons offense) in New Jersey and carries up to 6 months in jail and up to a $1,000.00 fine.
We hear these cases in New Jersey Municipal courts.
Alternatively, Aggravated Assault & Leaving the Scene of an Accident are felony charges that carry multi-year prison sentences. We hear these cases in New Jersey Superior Courts.
Other Assault charges involve Terroristic Threats, Stalking, and Leaving the scene of an accident.
Diversionary programs will allow you to avoid criminal prosecution.
The purpose of each program is to “forgive” you once for your mistake. That’s right, you don’t get two bites out of the apple.
New Jersey’s criminal code recognizes that people aren’t perfect. If you get arrested on a first offense, you have a way to keep your record clean.
Under the New Jersey law, domestic violence is committed by a person who has a close relationship in your life, including a current or ex-spouse, any member of your household (past and current), any current or former boyfriend or girlfriend, or a parent of your children (or expected child). You do not need to be legally related to or currently living with an abuser to qualify for protection under this law.
If such a relationship applies, then the New Jersey Domestic Violence Prevention Act may apply.
Read more about Restraining Order Violations.
New Jersey Drug charges are broken down into many categories.
You can get a single drug charge or you can be charged with many.
These crimes range from:
Most drug charges in New Jersey are Indictable (felony) offenses.
Simple Marijuana Possession and Paraphernalia Possession are treated as Disorderly Persons Offenses (misdemeanors).
Want to learn about Getting Drug Charges Dismissed?
New Jersey Municipal Courts handle the highest volume of cases in the state.
Patience is an absolute necessity when going to municipal court.
Your visit could take anywhere from an hour to four hours, especially when the court is crowded.
Expect medium to long lines starting at the security line. Then you will have to wait in line to speak with the prosecutor. Next, you will have to wait for the judge to call your case.
Lastly, you will have to wait at the ticket window to pay your fines.
Sex crimes charges will devastate your life. These types of crimes will land you and prison & leave you with a criminal record. To make matters worse, you will suffer “social abuse” when your name and mug shot get published online & local newspapers.
Your circle of friends will question you & your community will perceive you as a sexual predator. If you ever needed to prepare for a fight, now is that time.
There are two important things you must do:
There are plenty of excellent criminal lawyers in our area. Most, if not all of them, offer free, 20-minute, consultations. However, our free consultations do not have a time limit. You will never feel rushed.
The best way for us to help you is to patiently listen to your side of the story. Your version of events will serve as the basis for your legal defense. It is during these initial meetings that your memory of the event is fresh in your mind. Why we would rush you during such an important aspect of your case.
We understand that your choice of attorney could mean the difference between your freedom and spending years behind bars. When you hire an attorney, you are entering a long-term relationship. For this reason, it is important that you feel comfortable with the team of criminal lawyers that will represent you.