Aggravated assault is a very difficult crime to explain. For example, if you commit a Simple Assault on a member of a “protected class” you will automatically be charged with 2nd or 3rd-degree Aggravated Assault. This means that if you slap a cop, you will face felony charges regardless of the injury to the cop.
To help you understand the concept of “protected classes”, we included this short video.
We’ve devoted an entire article to this subject.
The difference between Simple & Aggravated Assault means the difference between your liberty and many years in prison.
In this article, we discuss legal defenses and strategies to help you better understand your options.
The mere “showing” of a deadly weapon during a confrontation quickly becomes an aggravated assault. It does NOT matter that the weapon was not used. Whenever you threaten another person with a deadly weapon such as a gun, the seriousness of the crime quickly escalates. The person in fear of your gun may suffer a heart attack or even death. For this reason, aggravated assault w/a deadly weapon is treated as a high-level felony.
A common misunderstanding is that you can only be charged with aggravated assault if you used a gun or a knife to threaten another person. But this is not true.
A deadly weapon could be virtually anything. For example, you could face aggravated assault charges for threatening someone with a baseball bat, crowbar, toy gun, scissors, and so on. Courts look at the victim’s fear of harm very closely and if that fear is real, then you’re facing serious prison time.
In theory, every type of criminal charge can be dismissed.
To learn more about how you can get your criminal charges dismissed, please read:
Dismissing Criminal Charges: 7 Ways To End The Nightmare
Aggravated assault in New Jersey is either a second, third, or fourth-degree crime.
Second Degree Crime: 5-10 Years in Prison & Up to $150,000 Fine;
Third Degree Crime: 3-5 Years in Prison & Up to $15,000 Fine;
Fourth Degree Crime: Up to 18 Months in Prison & Up to $10,000 Fine
As 3rd-degree Aggravated Assault lawyers in New Jersey, you will get our very best!
We are committed to fighting for you and protecting you throughout the entire case.
You will benefit from our extensive trial experience.
Most importantly, we will be honest about your chances of winning your case.
We never guarantee results.
However, we absolutely guarantee that we will do our best to aggressively fight for you!
Your case is as important to us as it is to you.
Your freedom is on the line.
Each case is different and we welcome the opportunity to protect & defend you.
When you hire us, you will get complete access to us. We respond to all communications & really care about our clients.
Our fees are reasonable and we offer payment plans.